Cue the Music

Michael and I took our two sons, ages 12 and 10, to a Decemberists concert in Montclair, New Jersey last week. They performed the entire Hazards of Love album, which is fantastic in concert. It’s really a kind of rock opera, so it’s very dramatic and entertaining in person. The boys were dragging a little by the end, but they really enjoyed the first half of the concert. Their favorite moment was The Rakes Song. Everyone in the ensemble except Colin Meloy pulled out a set of drums and began pounding away. Follow the link to You Tube, you’ll see exactly what I mean.

While we were there, we picked up a Laura Veirs CD, Saltbreakers. Laura Veirs sang on the Decemberists last album The Crane Wife, and I loved her voice. The more I listen, the more I like this album. Veirs has a quirky voice, sort of fragile and breathy at times, and very appealing.

Michael and I also saw Regina Spector in concert recently. She has a rabid, mostly female fan base. People kept interrupting the concert to yell out, “We love you!” We’ve been listening to her two most recent albums, Fidelity and Far nonstop recently. My 7-year-old daughter knows all the songs pretty much by heart. I think the kids like the songs so much because they have very singable melodies and also tell great stories. Listen to Samson, Fidelity or Folding Chair on her MySpace page and you’ll see what I mean.

Anyway, Michael has been more than tolerant of my admittedly geeky, girly music taste and I don’t think I’ve really told him how much I appreciate it. So there you go.

I’ll probably continue to interrupt this mostly food blog with posts about music from time to time. Actually, the name of the blog, The Process of Weeding Out is a musical reference. It is the title of a famous or maybe infamous Black Flag album. Wikipedia has an interesting explanation for the origins of the name. I won’t repeat it here.

Leave a Reply

